Nebraska Department of Banking and Finance

Criteria For Mortgage Loan Originator Applications

Under Neb. Rev. Stat. § 45-729(1)(c), all applicants for a mortgage loan originator (“MLO”)
license under the Nebraska Residential Mortgage Licensing Act (“RMLA”) must demonstrate,
at a minimum, that the applicant (1) has not had an MLO license revoked, (2) has not been
convicted of, or plead guilty to, any felonies or certain misdemeanors, (3) has demonstrated
financial responsibility, (4) has demonstrated character, and general fitness such as to
command the confidence of the community and to warrant a determination the MLO will
operate honestly, fairly, and efficiently within the purposes of the RMLA, (5) has completed
certain education requirements, and (6) is sufficiently bonded.

After receiving an application, the Department may notify an MLO about its intent to deny an
application if it does not meet the minimum requirements of the RMLA. Upon receiving notice
of an intent to deny from the Department, an MLO can supplement his or her original MLO
application as indicated below.

An applicant must demonstrate financial responsibility sufficient to command the confidence of
the community. An individual is not financially responsible when shown a disregard in the
management of their own financial condition. If an applicant has any judgment, government
tax lien/filing, single delinquent credit account of more than $250.00, or multiple delinquent
credit accounts of any amount (all inclusively referred to as “debt”) the applicant can provide
for the Department’s consideration:

1. A written explanation for the debt, and,

2. A written concrete, measurable, realistic plan to pay each debt, or payment plan with the
creditor, court, or government agency, and;

3. Documentation of at least 3 separate consecutive monthly payments toward all past due,
collection, or debt accounts.

4. The Department will not consider debt accounts directly held by a medical creditor.

5. “Charged Off” debt accounts remain legally owed debts and proper payment documentation
will be required, until the debt is forgiven, canceled, or discharged by the creditor.

If the applicant has had, or will have, a mortgage modification in the immediate future, or past
3 years, the applicant can provide for the Department’s consideration:
1. Notification in writing if attempting to (or did) enter, or negotiate, into a mortgage
modification plan, and;
2. Documentation of the modification attempt (or transaction), and;
3. Documentation of the final outcome of any attempt.

If the applicant has had a foreclosure within the past 3 years, the applicant can provide for the
Department’s consideration:
1. Disclosure of the foreclosure action on applicant’s NMLS record, and;
2. Documentation (typically court records) indicating applicant is not responsible for any
deficiency resulting from the foreclosure if completed, or;



3. Documentation of foreclosure action initiation, progress, redemption, modification, or
subject to short sale if not yet completed, or;

4. Documentation of any anti-deficiency statute that applies to any debt remaining after a
foreclosure the applicant was subject to, including case law/statute applicant is relying on.

If the applicant has filed a bankruptcy petition within the last 10 years the applicant can

provide for the Department’s consideration:

1. Disclosure of the bankruptcy petition, within the last 10 years, on their NMLS record, and;

2. If subject of a Chapter 7 petition, documentation of 6 months of post-discharge financial
responsibility evidence consisting of timely payment of current bills (rent, insurance, phone,
cable, utilities, etc.) for the 6 month post-discharge period, or;

3. If a subject of a Chapter 13 petition, at least 3 months of documentation that payments are
being made in accordance with their bankruptcy plan, or:

4. A copy of any discharge order for any bankruptcy petition filed less than 10 years, but more
than 6 months ago, and;

5. A copy of the petition schedules (A through J, and Statement of Current Monthly Income), if

not already uploaded/disclosed in your NMLS record, for any bankruptcy petition filed less
than 5 years ago.

Documentation: Can be in the form (with appropriate redactions made) of a statement indicating the
dates and amounts of payments made and balance due, cancelled checks, bank statements, receipts,
release of lien, satisfaction of judgment, or other similar documentation. All documentation must be
dated and clearly indicate the names of the creditor and debtor. Ambiguous documentation will not be
considered. Can submit documentation to the Department either by mail, or by emailing a PDF (PDF
only) version, to dob.mortgage@nebraska.gov. Note in your submission it is being sent in anticipation
of the Department’s review of the application. It must include your name and NMLS unique identifier
in the subject, or reference, line. If you need NMLS upload assistance, please see the NMLS Resource
Center quick guides or call the NMLS Call Center for assistance at 855-665-7123. Please send an e-
mail to dob.mortgage@nebraska.gov to notify us when you have completed this required action. Please
include your name and NMLS # in the subject line of all e-mails to the Department.

Debt Disputes: If you have disputed the validity, or amount, of a debt, submit written documentation of
the dispute to show the dispute has been filed and is active. Any dispute not resolved after 3 months is
assumed to no longer be in a disputed status and will need to be documented, as above, with written
plans, explanations, and proof of payments toward the debt.

Debt Payment Frustration: If you are not allowed, by any creditor, on any debt, to make direct
payments to a creditor (i.e. creditor won’t accept less than full payment of debt, not possible to make
mortgage payments while modification application is being processed) the Department requires you to
create a separate savings/bank account (and provide documentation of) where payments are being made
to show the debt is capable of being paid when it is possible.

An applicant must demonstrate the MLO has not been convicted of, or plead guilty to, any
felonies or certain misdemeanors in any domestic, forei gn, or military court. If the applicant
has any State, or Federal, misdemeanors which involve dishonesty or fraud, or which involve
any aspect of mortgage banking, depository institutions, or installment loan companies, the
applicant can provide for the Department’s consideration (but does not guarantee licensure):

1. Documentation of a pardon, expungement, or set aside of the conviction, or;



2. Public record documents of the indictment, or other charging documents, and disposition of
the criminal matter, and;
3. A written explanation of the incident.

If the applicant has any felony under State or Federal law, the applicant can provide for the
Department’s consideration:

1. Documentation of a pardon, expungement, or set aside of the conviction.

An applicant must demonstrate character and general fitness sufficient to command the
confidence of the community and that they will operate honestly, fairly, and efficiently under
the RMLA. If the applicant has had, or is currently having, any negative, or adverse, action
(fine, sanction, suspension, license revocation, consumer initiated arbitration, etc.) taken
against them by a State or Federal agency (such as the Securities and Exchange Commission, a
Real Estate Board or Commission, any financial or banking agency, etc.) the Department will
consider (but does not guarantee licensure):

1. A written explanation of the incident and any relevant circumstances, and;
2. Any public records documenting the action, and disposition of the matter, and;
3. Any documentation the action was terminated, if any exists.

If the applicant, in the course of employment, has ever voluntarily resigned, been discharged or
terminated, or was permitted to resign after allegations were made accusing the applicant of
violating statutes, regulations, rules, industry standards of conduct, or fraud, dishonesty, theft,
or wrongful taking of property, the applicant can provide for the Department’s consideration
(but does not guarantee licensure):

1. A written statement of the incident and the resulting action taken, and;

2. Any documentation provided by the employer regarding the incident and resulting action
taken.

3. The Department may contact former employers of an applicant. Not disclosing negative
employment action, while attesting to the accuracy of the non-disclosure in NMLS, creates a
deniable action under an application.

After the Department notifies an applicant of its intent to deny an application for not meeting the

RMLA’s minimum requirements, the applicant has 120 days to provide all necessary minimum
requirement information to the Department. If the applicant does not provide the necessary
information within this time period, or provides no further information, the application will be
denied or deemed abandoned. Temporary authority will not be available to any eligible
applicant after being notified of the Department’s intent to deny for not meeting the RMLA’s
minimum requirements. Upon notification of an intent to deny an application, in lieu of
providing more information, an applicant may request a hearing within 15 business days of
receipt of the Department’s notification of an intent to deny the application. A hearing will be
scheduled within 30 days, an independent hearing officer will be appointed, and a court
reporter will be retained. Applicants requesting a hearing may be required to pay all hearing
expenses as a result of the hearing.



